top of page

Ambition > Motivation = Procrastination

I'm not a math or science-oriented person. I need to create things; often resulting from my own wacky imagination, rather than spewing out numbers and letters in some complex coding formula to communicate my thoughts and feelings. It's just how I operate. I'm certainly not the only one - probably half of you reading this also favour the right side of the brain. Now tell me: is it just me, or do you also feel an astronomical weight on your shoulders from this need to create things that never seem to meet your glorified, almost impossible expectations? Or is it just a lack of motivation that is holding us back? You see my problem, don't you. I think too much. Maybe blogging will help organize my thoughts - get them out into the world, whether good or bad - so that I can think more clearly... I believe this is the first rational step to finally pursuing my dream career path of sharing my art and writing with the world. But who knows, I could be doing this whole "logical" thing all wrong. That honestly sounds fun and a little daring to my creative counterpart, so I guess I'll make the most out of what's to come from this obscure thing we call "life."

So I've decided to create a blog about life, but not for anyone else in particular. I've learned the hard way - from growing up craving approval by my peers to drawing what I think most people would gravitate towards - that I'll only disappoint myself with such behaviour. I now realize that I need to focus solely on myself and what I love in order to truly explore who I am and what I have to offer. Part of this comes with accepting and reminding myself that I in fact do have something to offer. I think a lot of creators struggle with this idea at some point in their lives because of how much extraordinary content is already out there. What makes you worth noticing? The loudest people on the Internet usually have the loudest voices and personalities "IRL," which can make it harder for the little guys to be heard. But that doesn't mean we don't have important, even remarkable things to say, even if it's not as often or as loud as other voices. With that said, maybe I'll "word-vomit" something that really resonates with you, perhaps even propelling you into a new perspective or journey of your own. Or, I'll continue typing away into the abyss, not affecting anyone's life other than my own, and that's okay too. Maybe aliens. Aliens will like my work.

Well, to whoever's out there, welcome to my brain and I hope you enjoy the ride!

bottom of page